Skip to content ↓


Inspirational training for aspirational teachers and a genuine commitment to professional learning and evidence based practice through its Partnerships.

At Exceed SCITT, we deliver a cohesive, sequential and personalised curriculum that fulfils our vision to develop high-quality teachers. We harness the expertise of colleagues from across the partnership who draw upon the best available research and evidence-based practice to prepare trainees to meet the needs of all pupils that they will teach and to sustain them for a long career in the profession. To nurture a passion for teaching, modelling a commitment to lifelong learning and professional development.   

Our curriculum is sequenced into Six Stages of Training which reflect the progression from components of effective teaching to more complex, composite sequences and scenarios, culminating in SCITT Teachers becoming confident, competent and ECT ready.  

The six stages of training are as follows: 

  • Stage 1 - Building Foundations 
  • Stage 2 - Developing Skills 
  • Stage 3 - Deepening Curriculum Knowledge and Pedagogy 
  • Stage 4 - Broadening Teaching and Learning Expertise 
  • Stage 5 - Breadth of Experience 
  • Stage 6 - Being ECT Ready 

Each stage identifies the expectations for SCITT Teachers to be ‘on-track’ for QTS by the end of training

Our curriculum is structured into six key themes. The first five themes explicitly integrate the ITT Core Content Framework in full, with the sixth theme moving beyond the foundation of the CCF. Mental health and wellbeing is given high importance across our partnership to support SCITT Teachers in meeting the needs of pupils they will teach and to sustain them in the profession.  

  • Behaviour and Expectations  
  • Pedagogy  
  • Subject and Curriculum  
  • Assessment  
  • Professional Behaviours  
  • Mental Health and Wellbeing